The winners of the OKC Beautiful names awards

OKC Beautiful’s annual Distinguished Service Awards are an opportunity to recognize individuals and organizations that work to improve the beauty and environmental health of Oklahoma City.

This year’s winners are 84 Hospitality Group, Oklahoma City Metropolitan Area Tree Canopy Assessment, Cox Communications, Robbie Kienzle, Metro Park Neighborhood Association, Lillian Timber Farms, Donnie Wilson and Restore OKC.

The individuals and groups honored represent those in Oklahoma City who are working to create a more beautiful and sustainable community.

The Distinguished Service Awards Luncheon is scheduled for March 24 at 11:30 a.m. at the Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club.

“We look forward to celebrating this incredible group of individuals, businesses and organizations who share our mission of environmental beautification and stewardship through collaboration, education and advocacy,” said Lisa Synar. , executive director of OKC Beautiful. “The results of their efforts promote community pride and contribute to the character and economic viability of the entire metropolitan area.

84 Hospitality Group received the Mayor’s Award for its community volunteer efforts and promotion of more sustainable business practices. In 2020 and 2021, 84 Hospitality staff members have teamed up to perform a series of trash cleanups in Oklahoma City. Recognizing the impact of single-use plastic and polystyrene products, they assessed their business practices to identify ways to reduce their impact on the environment.

The winner of the President’s Special Recognition Award is the Oklahoma City Metro Area Tree Canopy Assessment, made possible by the Oklahoma Central Government Association, the Oklahoma City Community Foundation and the Oklahoma Forest Service. The project provided data for central Oklahoma’s urban forest management, with an in-depth tree canopy survey of 536 square miles of the metropolitan area.

Cox Communications is the recipient of the Aubrey McClendon Enterprise Award for its Cox Preserves program. This program, launched in 2007, has the following main goals: send zero waste to landfill by 2024 and be carbon and water neutral by 2034. They are progressing towards these goals by focusing on alternative energy, l community engagement, employee engagement, energy conservation, waste diversion and recycling, and water conservation.

Oklahoma City Arts Liaison Robbie Kienzle is the recipient of the Pendleton Woods Lifetime Achievement Award. With a decades-long career in municipal planning and public art and cultural affairs, she has brought to life many public art improvements that beautify Oklahoma City.

Two separate organizations receive Community Spirit awards: the Metro Park Neighborhood Association and Lillian Timber Farms. The Metro Park Neighborhood association has mobilized to connect neighbors in their neighborhood while beautifying their corner of the city. Through median beautification and trash cleanup, they have improved their shared spaces, while bringing neighbors together. Lillian Timber Farms is a non-profit organization that builds community by teaching and learning sustainable farming practices. They were founded in response to food insecurity in northeast Oklahoma City and, along with a team of volunteers, have built and maintained several community gardens.

The Volunteer Spirit Award recognizes Donnie Wilson this year. OKC Beautiful was first introduced to Donnie when he was recognized by KFOR’s Pay it 4Ward series for his regular trash cleanups in the 39th Street District. He frequently gives of his time to beautify the neighborhood and protect it from litter.

Restore OKC is the recipient of the Visionary Award. The organization connects reconciliation relationships for restorative justice by addressing the physical, social, emotional, educational, and economic needs of Oklahoma City’s northeast neighbors. They do this through initiatives for education, housing, vocational training and agriculture.

Terri Cooper, an active volunteer in the Oklahoma City area, is this year’s Honorary Chair of the Distinguished Service Awards.

“I’m honored to be the chair of the Distinguished Service Awards event,” Cooper said. “What the winners have accomplished is inspiring. It is the dedication and vision of groups like these that make a difference in our great community.

Source link

Comments are closed.